Skip to content
April 27, 2011 / Brewtiful BC

Vancouver Craft Beer Week

So it’s kind of silly I didn’t post something like this long ago.  Even so, without further delay, here is my Vancouver Craft Beer Week post.

A few months ago I was hanging around on the internet looking for exciting jobs or internships and wasn’t finding anything.  So I decided to go on Facebook and see what was happening.  As usual nothing too exciting was going on there either, but I noticed that Vancouver Craft Beer Week posted something regarding this year’s upcoming event.  I decided to mix my job searching with my procrastination and sent them my resume.  Later that week I was their marketing intern.

Being an intern wasn’t really anything I was looking for ideally, but this gave me a position in an industry I would love to work in, and doing the sorts of things I went to school for.  Things marketing directors and presidents don’t want to do, like internet research, database management, and writing press releases are things I would be happy to do, and happy to get on my resume.

But not all that glitters is gold.  It is not all glory being the VCBW intern.  Although the work they feed me on paper appears manageable, when you are working under Beer Week conditions, you need to have an editor or at least a designated driver.  All jokes aside, there is a lot of work involved to put on such an event.  There are over 55 breweries at over 70 venues partnered with VCBW during the 9 days in May celebrating craft beer in Vancouver; 28 breweries collaborated to produce a Cascadian Dark Ale that will be featured at many of the events; and over 150 beers were entered in the Brewery Creek BC Beer awards.   It doesn’t organize itself.  A lot of work is put into this celebration of craft beer and I am happy to do my part.

Now I can finally defer all of the reoccurring questions to my own blog, which will pretty much redirect everybody to the official site.  It has an extensive list of all the events and I will be sure to post anything I know of that isn’t posted on there.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Leo / Apr 27 2011 11:36 pm

    Better late then never. Also it’s not like the event is over. I can’t wait!

  2. Paul Kamon / Apr 28 2011 7:37 am

    Get back to work, intern!

Trackbacks

  1. The Complete, Abridged Story of Being the Vancouver Craft Beer Week Intern. « brewtifulbc

Leave a Reply

